Independent Academic Institutions

Alberta has 5 Independent Academic Institutions:

Institution Name
Ambrose University
Burman University
Concordia University of Edmonton
The King's University
St. Mary's University

Role within Campus Alberta

Academic Programs Definitions

These institutions primarily provide liberal arts, science, and education baccalaureate degree programs. They may also offer graduate programs in niche areas.

Not all programs provided by these institutions are subject to approval by the Government of Alberta. Other programs may have met the quality assurance of other regulatory bodies.

Approved programs:
  • Academic Upgrading (in specific areas)
  • Baccalaureate Degree (in niche areas)
  • Master's Degree (in niche areas)
May also offer:
  • Divinity Degree
  • Post-Baccalaureate Certificate
  • Post-Baccalaureate Diploma

Visit OCCinfo for a list of current programs offered at each institution.

Research Activity

  • Applied research and scholarly activity to enhance their instructional mandate.

Learner Focus

  • Learners interested in academic programs within a faith-based educational environment.

Learn More