Comprehensive Community Institutions

Alberta has 11 Comprehensive Community Institutions:

Institution Name Primary Geographic Service Area
Bow Valley College Calgary and region
Grande Prairie Regional College Northwestern Alberta
Keyano College Northeastern Alberta
Lakeland College East Central Alberta
Lethbridge College Southwestern Alberta
Medicine Hat College Southeastern Alberta
NorQuest College Edmonton and region
Northern Lakes College North Central Alberta
Olds College West Central Alberta
Portage College East Central Alberta
Red Deer College Central Alberta

Each Comprehensive Community Institution is responsible for stewardship of adult learning opportunities within their defined region of Alberta.

Role within Campus Alberta

Academic Programs Definitions

These institutions provide a broad range of programs that prepare learners for employment or for further study.

  • Academic Upgrading
  • Applied Degree 
  • Bachelor's Degree (in collaboration with a degree-granting institution)
  • Bachelor's Degree with Applied Focus
  • Certificate
  • Diploma
  • Journeyman Certificate (using Apprenticeship and Industry Training certification standards)
  • Post-Diploma Certificate
  • Graduate Certificate

Visit EDinfo for a list of current programs offered at each institution.

Research Activity

  • Applied research and scholarly activity to enhance their instructional mandate.

Learner Focus

  • Learners interested in preparatory, career, and academic programming. 

Learn More